• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie awaiting gastric bypass surgery

tubbyspud

HI All

im new to all this, i went to see Mr Shaw Somers in August 2008 and i have been booked in a gastric bypass surgery, 4-6 months waiting list which it is over that time now (so i hope it happens real soon) im starting to feel really apprehensive. Although excited about starting a new life and being able to like myself again!! It's been a long time coming.

Is anyone else at the same stage as i am and feeling the same at the moment?
Just waiting for that phone to ring to give me a date for the pre op assessments (can anyone tell me what they do at that??)
I look forward to hearing from you soon, just ready some of your blogs on here i know i've made the right descision with going for bypass surgery you all look great.
Vics x

Hi Vics and welcome to minis. Once you get your date it will all happen so quickly mine is a blurr....good luck and I hope you hear soon....you have a very good surgeon and he is cute as well...xx

hey vics, it will soon come round - the pre ops are basically blood tests, lung function test and a general talk through of you current medical history/problems. Some people see ther anaesthetist at the same time but most hospitals ahve them seperately so that your bloods are back in time to see them. Once these are out the way your date normally falls real soon. I have my pre op with the anaesthetist tomorrow and understand about the waiting its a real killer. Hope you get your phone call soon.

xXx