• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

janebell

hiya im new to this and very nervous lol . i been reffered by my doctor n been to the group session i know i got a very long way to go but i also need to start losing some weight and im hopeing to get so advice n support as i only ever last 2 weeks on any diet . i am also wondering what comes next after the group session can anyone tell me thanks x

Hi Janebell i found every hospital has different ways of doing things, i went to my group meeting in september had meetings with surgeon dietician ecg blood tests etc and presentation of the ops available they went through each one and it was left to you to decide which you think most suitable for your lifestyle for the rest of your life and then the surgeon will discuss this with you and if you are suitable for the one you chose.i then had to go to murrayfield hospital to see the surgeon there as i had chosen duodenal switch but had to do after diet for three weeks before i saw him to prove i could do it. then he gave me my date which was 3 1/2 weeks ago and i am very sore but will never regret it :) hope that helps (or just confused you more )xx

thank you angie that has helped and it did not confuse me which is unusal for me as i get confused very easy lol im thinking im gonna b waiting for about 18mths before i maybe get any op does that sound about the right time scale x

i was three months after first appt , has your pct approved the op funding and that why you had group session, as i say it's so different at every hospital and i didn't have aponea test or anything they said i was low risk so all went smoothly but i can't see what you weigh and if you have aponea or anything else, i was 21st 4lb this time last year and was 19st 7lb when i went in sept now am 16st 4lb xx my diabetes has gone and i haven't had any medication for it at all since op. :)