• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Post Op - Sugar in Tea/Coffee

ICAWM

I have been researching surgical options for many years. I think I know the pros and cons of each procedure but now I'm getting to the nitty gritty.

Inevitably I have tried just about every diet going from WA and SW to meal replacement diets. I like the lack of options with latter although the thing I missed most was sweet milky coffee.

So my question is, do any of you still have sugar in warm drinks post bypass?

I use a non Aspartame based sweetener :) I never add sugar to ANYTHING! x

No I'm almost 2 years post bypass and don't add sugar to any drinks post bypass. I sometimes use Agave nectar but it's very rare.

I'm getting the feeling that you're looking for a reason to as sugar to your drinks. My advice - liquid calories are doom for a post topper. Don't do it!

I don't sweeten my tea or coffee, but my husband uses stevia which has zero calories. Would that be an option for you?

Stopping sugar in coffee is my greatest anxiety. NAS squash, water, no fizz, no alcohol are all fine. I've never been able to find an acceptable replacement to sugar in all my years of dieting.

I know that tastes often change with surgery, but can't depend on that.

I'm curious to compare with previous sugared tea/coffee drinkers for their experiences. If other forum members didn't have sugar before then it's no comparison if they don't now, likewise if they were using sweetener beforehand.

I'm full of rambling questions as the light at the end of the tunnel is getting closer and larger after never thinking I'd get there!

Its quite expensive, but apparently tastes very much like sugar. Its made from a plant, but has zero calories and so obviously no carb content. I wouldn't know as I've never had sugar in tea x