• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newcomers - welcome, but eep!

Dub07

Hi Pierce

When I hit the new post button, I get screens full of pretty anodyne and automatic newbie welcomes. Now, I'm not so far away from being a newbie myself, so I'm not suggesting you stop welcoming them. ~mutters~ Buuuuuut, I didn't even realise I'd got a message for ages - long past the appropriate time to say anything. My bad. How'never - Is there any way to send it as a private message to the new joiner? Or for non newbies to do a "new post" zap without bringing up this congestion?

:eek:

You can PM or receive PM's til you have 50 posts under your belt Im afraid so that wouldnt work The welcomes arent automatic though, if theyre coming up in your new post list its because someone has added to the thread. I know it can be kind of annoying at times but when I joined the 'welcome' thread really motivated me and made me feel part of the site

mmm know what you are saying, they do take over a bit (& i never got one :()

bet ya did, though, Pandy - try a search?

Starlight - yeah - I know, I know and I'm not whining. It just seems an artificial way to inflate the posts on what is undoubtedly a brilliant and well-visited site.

I've looked at a load of the multiple-replied to newcomer welcome threads and few if any (actually none that I've seen) have been replied to by their "intended" recipients. It takes most newbies a while to discover that "new post" button, by which time their welcome has long since vanished into the 8th or umpteenth page. There has to be a better way that's all.

~stepping carefully off the soap-box~