• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Advice needed plzzz

emmafifema

Hi there everyone,

I am new to this and really am just after a little advice..

I am 31 and have struggled with my weight since a was a toddler...I have been on various diets since then and have lost a little then gained a lot.
Over 2 years ago I joined WW and lost 4 stone and felt great! But with the weight loss came gall stones....I was hospitalised and had to have surgery to remove my gall bladder.
Since then I have piled on the weight again and no matter what diet or exercise I do I just cant seem to lose any weight!
I am now weighing over 20 stone with a BMI of around 48, I hardly sleep at night or in even in the day as I wake myself up from lack of breathing...I am sleeping on 6 pillows at night as if I lay on any less the pressure of my weight on my neck restricts my breathing.

I have terrible sciatica and cant stand for long periods of time because of the pain. A few years ago I was given reductil and that didnt help and now I have been reffered to a well being clinic by my doc to do a 10 week course on weight loss tips etc.

One doc has told me that if this doesnt work then I'm on my own as there is no other help for me, another doc has told me that he thinks I am good candidate for weight loss surgery if this doesnt work.

Basically I just wanted to see what everyone else thinks of my situation and if you think theres a chance I can get this surgery on the NHS?

Thanks xx

its a post code lottery if you can get funding for it or not if you have gp's backing then thats a positive thing x

Hiya and welcome to minis.
I think you would be a very good canidate to get surgery on the NHS, There are quite a few people on here who have had it done on the nhs and i am sure you will get some help and advise of them as I went privately for mine so can't help.
Wishing you the best of luck!