• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Colonic 'hydration'

I read in a thread somewhere that you have a colonic before surgery. Does everybody have this?

Also, is it something that you can have done after a bypass?

If they did, I was asleep when they did it!!

Well make sure you sleep with your back to the wall then:p

Maybe it was a special case then when they had it done.

i will sleep with my back to the wall ha ha and have a pair of extra tight knickers on so they cant get them off and "cleanse me" lmao:eek::eek:;)

I have heard of a couple of hospitals that give enemas before surgery, but never heard of anyone giving a colonic! My hospital change your pre-op diet for the last 3 days to clear fluids only, which clears out your system ;)

I am an ex-bowel nurse so am pratcised in enema's, manual evacuations and colonic irrigation / hydration. Some hospital will empty the bowels before surgery due to the mess and nightmare it is if they empty while on the table - but each hospital will have it's own policy over this. If you stay on the pre-op diet, your bowel movements will be much reduced anyway.

Enema's only empty out the very bottom of the bowel FYI.

I am very strange in the fact that I do actually want a colonic at some point.
Not sure why, I just fancy a mini clearout lol
Steph xx

An interesting fact - apparently the average person carries around about 4-6lb of undigested meat in there intestine, and bowel that never comes out.