• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hi Guys, please help a complete newby!

Dizzarella

Hi Everyone

I’m totally new to forums and WLS in general, this is my first ever message.

I have made the decision to have WLS after a long struggle with my weight and fertility.

I have my date for my Roux en y Gastric Bypass 10th August 2013.
I am frankly petrified, I have been reading as much information as I can (including this WLS forum) I have bought a book (The Emotional First Aid Kit: A Practical Guide to Life After Bariatric Surgery, Second Edition).

I guess the thing which I am most scared about is how much pain I will be in after the surgery and how much my life is going to change and will it be for the better?

I’m confused about what I will be able to eat after the surgery and how ‘normal ‘ my life can be post surgery.

I would really appreciate comments from everyone especially people who are 1-2 months post op to give me more of an idea of what to expect.

Thanks Guys.
Dizz :wave_cry:

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome :) I'm more than a couple of months post op, but I can assure you that although the first month is usually hard eventually life goes back to normal ;)

Hi.

I'm just over 4 months out. I've been out with friends for meals and coffees etc with no 'obvious' difference to them. OK, no puds for me but I don't miss them.

I can do more physically than I could before and that can only get more and more.

I've not read that book but there are a couple if ladies on here that swear by it xx

Hi
I'm only 1 week out, but from my experience of the same op as your having is " no pain what so ever, slight discomfort with trapped wind, but that went after 3 days ".
i'm eating half to 3 quarters on a tin of soup a day & less than half of yogurt plus 1 pint of milk with added dried milk for protein.