• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Weird Tongue!

MrsSmith

Know this is a strange question, and may have been brought up before (if so, then apologises), but I am now 4 days post band op and have just noticed how horrid and weird my tongue looks, so just wondered if anyone else had this?
It's very blotchy and patchy, doesn't hurt, but looks revolting!
Hoping someone else had this and it's not just me!

Yes I had this too. I think it's where you're just having liquids, I bought some Cortisol mouth wash because one of gums started to get a bit sore too. Once I started eating something I could chew it went. If it was sore I'd say it could me oral thrush as that can happen after an anaesthetic (sp.?) too. I'm no medical expert though, so if you're worried might be worth speaking to a professional. x

I had oral thrush after my op too. I left it (as you do lol) until it got quite bad thinking it would go on its own but in the end my doctor gave me some quite strong medicine for it. Not tablets but an antibiotic that you apply directly to the tongue (drops).
Go and see your doc then it wont get any worse.
Lynne x

i have the same im 4 days post op and couldnt take it anymore my tounge was all white and tasted revolting so i went to the chemist and got over the counter gel stuff. x

I meant Corsodyl and to say 'be' oral thrush not 'me' oral thrush. Must have been half asleep when I posted that one!

Thanks everyone; knew you'd all know, that's why I love this forum!
Good ol Mr Smith has bought me some Corsodyl (dodgy spelling?) xx