• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Please help me convince my OH

Emma7799

Hi, I'm a newbie on here :0)
I am 34 and am now at my heaviest at 20.8 stone making my bmi 47.
I have been thinking about WLS for years and have my first consultant appt Wednesday at PRH Telford (private)
I initially wanted bypass then saw the price and looked at the band then researched and decided the bypass is worth the extra!
The only thing is now my husband has been looking on the internet and read blogs about how it has failed and ruined their lives.
I have lurked on here a while and read so many successful stories.
How do I convince him it is a good thing? Anyone else had similar problems?
TIA

Hi Emma and welcome to the forum.
I think it's worth remembering most stories that make it onto the internet are 'extremes' they have done exceedingly well or failed miserably with their weight loss. Most folk I think are somewhere in between. My surgeon has suggested if I use the tool I've been given I will loose around 1/3 of my starting weight.
As for convincing your hubbie, it's always great if they support you, but really this is your life, your body and therefore your decision.
Good luck and I hope you can reach an amicable solution. X

Its your body so in the end your decision (money allowing) I know I made up my mind then I told my partner, he wasn't/isn't too keen but knows me too well to say anything.

I sat my husband down and went through all the reasons I wanted it, told him I'd rather die (it's how I felt) than continue living in constant pain, he relented enough to support me in the initial stages. He's since been difficult and I've lost patience, so he's been told if he can't support me he needs to move out of my way ha, I suggest you just lay it on the table I'm sure if he knows how important it is to you, he'll support you.