• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Tough Love

Sambucca

OK, I have thought long and hard about whether to post this or not. Before I start - a disclaimer.

* This is MY opinion only, I am not an expert. This is just my observation and as a pre opper I may be out of order for saying what I am about to say. Please know that I say this as I care about each and every one of you and want you all to do well on your journeys. *

So here goes.

I am really struggling to sit on my hands every time I see a thread saying someone has eaten something they shouldn't.

As WLS patients, this is the last chance saloon for us. Most of us have tried everything else and failed - me included. I'm no saint. If this (wls) doesn't work for us then we are destined to remain obese forever.

I cannot understand why some people choose to abuse the tools they have been given and eat things they shouldn't. Not only eat things they shouldn't but in large quantities.

I will not tell people its OK to have eaten KFC, McD's, Cheesecake, Chocolates, CHips, Curry Sauce amongst other things. This is not a dig personally at the people to have confessed to these this week. Just that these are the ones I can remember. Telling someone to put it behind them, or tomorrow is another day is not supportive in my opinion. It is almost condoning what they have done.

Now I know that this is all easy for me to say as a pre opper. I am not the one having to forego all these foods at the minute. I am still enjoying my food and that probably makes me a hypocrite. But I know that once I have had my operation, I am so determined to get this weight off and keep it off that nothing is going to tempt me to put the junk in my mouth that has made me obese in the first place. It is the main reason I chose a bypass over band as I know that for me personally, just the fear of dumping is going to be enough to stop me eating these foods.