• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

A swifty question for the bypass losers

Brunetteandred

Officially a loser
This is prolly a no-brainer, but just wanted some clarification.
Why is it important not to drink with a meal and is it right one shouldn't drink for a period after a meal?

Thanks chaps and chapesses! x

I thought no fluid 1/2 hour before and the same after cause the before will fill you up and the after will wash the food through to quick

This is prolly a no-brainer, but just wanted some clarification.
Why is it important not to drink with a meal and is it right one shouldn't drink for a period after a meal?

Thanks chaps and chapesses! x
hi im new at this so please bare with me if you drink with or before a meal it fills you up and does not allow much room for food,if you drink straight after a meal there is no room for it so it makes you very bloated or will make you sick(im 9 month post bypass) hope it helps sarah

Ok its really simple, you dont have anything at the bottom of your pouch to stop food dropping through the tiny stoma your surgeon has created, therefore if you eat and drink at the same time you turn the food in your pouch into a slurry an it falls through quicker, this way you find you can eat more, and you'll find you get hungry quicker, the idea is to fill your pouch to restriction and keep the food in there digesting as long as possible, thus preventing you snacking or feeling hungry quicker.

So we dont eat during a meal, or for at least an hour and a half post meal !