• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Another Newbie from Gloucester who needs help please!

LeaSparkle

Hi everyone.

I am just starting out on the Gastric Band Path.

Usual story about yo-yo dieting and vlcd's!

I finally had enough last September and went to see my G.P.

Again usual story of breaking down and asking for a referral for a band.

I just received an appointment for Gloucester Royal Dietetics for 15th February. I am already feeling a bit defeated by how long I may have to wait even if I do get referred for a band. I also feel very aprehensive that I won't be referred for a band. I don't think I could cope with a refusal!

I would love some information from anyone who can tell me what to expect from this initial appointment? I am so scared!

Also any tips would be ace!

Please help me!

Sparks xxx

Hi,
Welcome to the site! You'll (hopefully) find all of the information you need to make an informed decision! I originally wanted a band but after doing a lot of research, and getting a LOT of valuable information off this website I am having a bypass. I'm sure you have done all of the research already so are fully-informed!! I'm still pre-op but will help answer any questions!!!

Good luck!!

xxxxxxxx

I'm just worried that maybe they'll be surprised that I want wls! Expecting them to drone on about dieting etc... maybe I'm just blinkered.

Thanks for replying so soon though!

It differs area to area. Have you checked out what the guidelines are for your PCT (Primary Care Trust)? Hope you don't mind me asking but what is your BMI? And do you have any co-morbidities (e.g. Diabetes etc). You don't have to tell me!! There may be people in the same area who can tell you roughly what the process is!!!!!

I'm at the Whittington Hospital, London and the first appointment is a group information session so I'm guessing the process is slightly different.