• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Band Conversion - Thinking of Having A Sleeve/Bypass Instead

Furybird4470

Hi Im a newbie!
I had my Gastric band inserted by Dr Chris Debruyne in Belgium in June 2010 and my insert weight was 18st 10lb (pre-op weight 19st 11lb height 5ft 1" BMI 51), slight complication of a internal bleed and had to have a transfusion but all good on recovery, I lost 3st 7lb by the following November 2011.

I then went for a fill, as things had come to a standstill with my weight loss, and unfortunately it felt really tight and I couldn't keep anything down and went back and had a small de-fill. Since then I put off getting a refill (cost/emotional stuff) and have put back on 2st, my fault I know but as the band has never felt comfortable, pain in arm, port aching and now practically constant reflux was thinking of converting to a bypass/sleeve.
Does anyone have any experience of doing this and did they have to pay extra to remove the band first?
Thank you
:break_diet:

Good move!

I paid about £1000 extra to have the band removed. Had done in same operation as safer. But I hadn't had complications with the band, just the port. Chose bypass due to diabetes, have never been able to get my head around the sleeve.

Much less restrictive with the bypass.

Thanks ThinnerJemima, I feel a bit of a failure really, I chose the band as it was less invasive and at £4000 in Belgium instead of £9000 in Cardiff was the deciding factor. I was refused funding even though my BMI was over 50 and the 4 year waiting list in South Wales. In hindsight adding all the costs of band fills and the fact it took about 3 weeks recovering because of the complications, I should have gone the whole hog!
Think I will try one last fill and see my consultant when they come over to do the clinic and get their opinion as well. And start saving.