• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

FEELING POSITIVE/NEGATIVE with 6 weeks to go

gillabean

Really living now!
I am due to have gastric bypass surgery on 12th November and I am all of a tizz. I only (!) need to lose 7 stone and I carry my weight well, in that I am equally fat all over, lol! Although I have been dieting on and off for the last 15 years and managed to lose some only to put it back on (and some more). I suppose it's only natural for me to have doubts, why can't I lose weight on my own? For the last four weeks I have been eating sensibly and have tried v. hard not to eat sweets (my weakness) and I've put on 3 pounds. I have bad arthritis of my ankle and knees and I had a hip replacement last year, it is for this reason that I am having the surgery, I am paying for it myself. Sometimes I feel guilty about having the surgery as everyone else seems to have so much more to lose than me. But, will I ever be normal again? Am I just swapping one abnormal diet for another; trying to get as much protein whilst restricting my sugar and fat intake?

Does everyone have doubts? I hope someone says yes, or is it just me?

I had huge doubts as my op date neared. It is an abnormal diet - at first - but then becomes the norm. It is a life change but that was what I wanted and needed. I do not feel at all like I am on a diet now, I just eat differently to how I used to.
My BMI was 50+ so you may be better chatting to someone with a lower BMI like yourself.
Lx

Everyone has doubts. It's natural.

Although what you got to try and find is someone who has put weight on after a bypass. I'm sure if you look hard enough there may be some somewhere. But none spring to mind.

You have no need to feel guilty. If your health and well being is suffering from that extra 7 stone, then you deserve the op, especially as you're paying for it privately!