• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello, I'm new and looking forward to getting to know you lovely people x

JoanneHodgin

Hiya I'm Jo.

As you know I'm a newbie here.
I'm in the Preston (Lancashire) area.
I'm at the very 1st steps of this journey. Like many of you I've always been a big girl!
It's only recently that I have been motivated to do something about it.
I also have pcos an underactive thyroid.

My gp suggested that I tried Orlistat in January of this year.
Luckily I haven't experienced the horror stories that can be associated with it. I have managed to loose 2st slowly but surely by making changes to my diet.
Although my weight is coming down my motivation is dwindling.
I feel that my main issue is portion control and snacking when I'm bored. I feel weight loss surgery would be a great tool for me.
I'm worried that if I was to stop taking Orlistat that I would end up back at square 1.

At my last GP weigh in I requested to be referred for weight loss surgery.
Although my doctor has been very supportive so far and has been very happy with the weight loss I have achieved; I got the impression that he didn't think the risk of surgery was worth it. He said that if I continued the way I have been doing that I wouldn't need it.
I beg to differ!
I'm 131kg so still have a long way to go.

My GP did however refer me to a dietician.
I'm confused! Is this the 1st step on the road to weight loss surgery? Or has my doctor sent me down a different cul De sac to keep me quiet?

Thanks for listening to my ramblings!
I look forward to getting to know you; and listen to your advice x

Hi

Welcome!!

I tried oralistat without any real joy, I funded myself to get the band done as couldn't wait the length of referral time as was getting less mobile, more health problems etc!