• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

New and looking for advice on surgery please =]

hippychick62

Hi everyone
This is my first time here. Been reading some of the threads and good to know I am not alone with my weight misery.
I am thinking of asking my GP about weight loss surgery, but would like a bit of advice first. I was wondering what BMI you have to be before being considered and if this varies from area to area? I am in Kent.
My BMI is 38 and I also have high cholesterol which I take medication for, borderline BP and joint problems. I also have self esteem and confidence issues related to my weight.
I have previously been prescribed Reductil by a different doctor and also taken Orlistat, but without any real success.
I am a bit scared of approaching him in case he refuses me.
Any advice gladly received. Thanks

yummymummytobe

my bmi was 43 Im 5ft 3 i had my surgery in jan of this year as you i ws prescribed both these tablets with no real success when i approached my dr i asked if she would refer me to have my jaws wired .... well she laughed @ me & referred me for surgery & its the best thing i have ever done x So go back to the dr & ask the relevent questions that will help you get the funding required for surgery xxxx Good luck xx

chloe79

hiya i was told by the doc that bmi was meant to be at 40 or above or 35 if diabetic
i would really ask yr doc hun dont get worred yr doc is there to help unot judge u in any way i never thought i would of got help but i have and i wont never turn the clock back now ive got a long way to go but i know 1 day soon i will be happy again hope u get it sorted

chloe :)

penguina

The nice guidelines I think are BMI 40 or 35 with serious health problems, but many PCT's have their own criteria. Some have moved the goalposts to very high BMI's.