• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hi everyone, newbie here

Potnoodle88

Hello everyone.

I'm 27 and have struggled with weight since my early teens. I have tried everything from weight watchers, slimming world, low carb, no carb. I even had diet pills from the doctor called Orlistat and nothing works for me.

I have a bmi of over 40 and accordingly to the NhS website this meets the criteria for WLS but I am nervous to speak to my doctor (new doctor as old doctors shut down)

If I explain my struggles to the doctor and say I want to be referred will they do this? Or will they make me jump through hoops? From what I have seen and heard I believe they have made it easier now to be referred.

Thanks in advance
Charlotte

Hi and Welcome!

My personal experience with my own GP was not very good, to be honest they just didn't want to know. I was told I'm not a priority case!

But I will qualify that with saying I may well have some sort of "difficult" or non-co-operative patient markers on my file. When I was first diagnosed diabetic I had issues with the drugs they gave me that weren't resolved until I kicked up a hell of a fuss refused to take the drugs they perscribed and made formal complaints. . . .

But yes to get NHS funding they will make you jump through hoops, you'll be expected to go on supervised weight loss programs and only when they've all failed will you get a referal

Mat

Hi and welcome. I went down the private route, but when I asked my doctor they were perfectly willing to refer me just on my say so, a quick weigh, and a discussion about why diets and pills weren't working. You have nothing to lose by asking.

Good luck! And welcome to the forum - this is a great place for advice and to ask those daft questions that buzz around your brain :) x