• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie in Leyland

100nettie

Hi, my name is Annette (I am sister to Jaxx) and am 43 years old. She gave me the details of this site to see if I can get any help or information.

I have been fighting with weight issues since I was 5 years old. When I was 18, I finally went on a diet and managed to get down to 9stone. Unfortunately, I ended up with a stomach ulcer as a result (too much grapefruit!).

Since then I have fought on, always trying to eat properly and do the right thing. A couple of years ago I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes for my troubles.

So I now have at least one co-morbidity. I weight 19 stone, also have asthma, gastric problems, pain problems, depression, anxiety, ibs and anaemia. I thought this would be enough for me to ask if I could have a gastric band. Haha, how stupid of me.

I originally asked my diabetes doctor if I could possibly be referred for the surgery. He said I met all the criteria except one; I needed to do a three month weight loss programme at the surgery. So I went and did this, and managed to lose the earthshattering amount of half a kilo. I went back to the doctor, who has since said everything has changed, and that they need to "document" everything I am doing to lose weight - I thought that this was what I was doing over the last three months? Anyway, he says I now have to go on "obesity treatment" in the form of Orlistat - which I have tried, but triggered my ibs to such an extent that I had to stop taking it.

So where do I go from here? I am in such a depression at the moment, due to stress from work, and all this is making it worse. Do I go through this treatment again, even though it will make me extremely miserable?

I'm sorry that this is such a long post for a newbie!:sigh:

Hi Annette and welcome,