• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

need help gastric bypass

gemma-lou88

hiya all .. im new to this so dont really know where to start or whether this will work, my names gemma iv been large all my life never had the pleasure of being thin. im currently a BMI of 42 (last time i looked) i have suffered bad depression these last few years and just seem to be getting bigger and bigger iv done everything, even got taken off medication for weight loss off the doc as they didnt even work. they have done tests to see what is up and they all come back normal.. iv tried getting loans for the gastric bypass surgery with no luck, i asked the doc to refer me but he said no as he doesnt think i could handle it because of my depression.. does anyone know any other ways i could get this operation? i would appreciate any help as i am desperate, its getting to the point where i dont see the point in life anymore i hardly leave the house and i have a son who is 1 in 3 weeks and i wanna do it for him as its not fair me being down all the time around him and avoiding mixing with people incase i get bad comments or weird looks :( please can anyone help me ? :cry:

hi gemma i had a stubborn gp that wouldnt refere me, try a different gp in your gp practice i had to see a few of them b4 i got a referal, keep fighhting them dont back down just because you have had 1 no xxx
fight them all the way.

liz xxx

Last edited:
Do you have a different dr. in your practice to speak to about this? I've suffered with depression for the last 2 years and this did not affect my referal. Also have you spoke to the dr about possible counselling? Maybe once you've seen a counsellor to talk about your depression he maybe more willing to refer you?
Sorry I cant be more helpful, keep your chin up & I hope things work out :) x

well i have had 2 no's so far i switched doctors a few weeks back but i will keep trying thanks x