• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

New

H12

I am new to this sight. Have been given NHS funding and last week had my 1st appointment with the dietician . Seeing the surgeon in 2 weeks time,looks like I am going to have a bypass. Any advice please, 1 minute feeling excited the next terrified!.so many questions going on in my head.

Hi H12 just wanted to say welcome im sure some bypassers will be by shortly xx

Hi i am a bypasser 17 months post op. Where you having your op? Ihad mine in SRH up in the North East. The bypass isn't too bad really, everyone gets scared as the time goes on some hospitals have a long waitn list others quite short took me almost 2 years. After the op recovered very quickly as it was done key hole. Like evry op there are good and bad thongs that can happen sometimes thongs don't go to plan but the doc will explain all that to you. Most people manage very well, my main problem ahs been constipation. I have lost 10 1/2 stone since my 1st referral, 8 1/2 since my op in Aug 2011. The younger you are the better for you in my opinion I am 47 now and really wish I could've had it done when I was younger. Good luck with your wls journey xx Any questions just ask xx

Hi and welcome, you will find everyone on here really friendly and supportive. I'm not a bypasser, having a wrap in 10 days time. But I am sure there will be plenty bypassers along to give you support, advice and their experience. Good luck x

Hi I had DS end Nov 11 , well done getting funding , honestly we all get scared I cried like a baby on my way to theatre sent my 3 children and hubby goodbye notes etc etc but here I am 14 months later :) it's not always easy as Chris says but we help each other on here and try to support when things aren't quite so good xxx join in and ask anything there's always someone to advise :)