• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

sleep apnea & gastric banding

tracie_40

:)hi everybody,
just registered today took me weeks trawling web to find a decent forum.hooray.
i was hoping that someone can help with my nerves,and any info and tips,i have sleep apnea a bmi of 45 and my consultant is puting me forward for gastric banding at dewsbury,
as anyone had surgury at dewsbury?
do you too have sleep apnea and had the surgury?
is there a long wait from seeing the actual gastric surgeaon to having op.
kindest regards tracie
ps.this is my first time on any forum got my sis to show me basics so bear with me,cheers:)

i had surgery last year and had sleep apnea ... they used a drug (mind has gone blank ... what's the word I want?) that was less likely to affect breathing. I lived to tell the tale. The anaethetist (anaesthetic - that is the word) will know what he/she is doing and if they have a concern they will not do the surgery. Sounds like you don't need to worry though.

i had surgery last year and had sleep apnea ... they used a drug (mind has gone blank ... what's the word I want?) that was less likely to affect breathing. I lived to tell the tale. The anaethetist (anaesthetic - that is the word) will know what he/she is doing and if they have a concern they will not do the surgery. Sounds like you don't need to worry though.

Hi there

Ive not been to the hospital where you are going , but im sure it will be tip top and all the staff will be helpful with any question you want the answer to, Just make sure you ask them to help ease your worries.
But first off sleep apnea dont worry as long as they all know you have it , they can control the problem. If there was any risk they would not do the operation. They are in to life saving and they would never put someone at risk.