• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Telling your work about your op and time off??

rainbow27

Hello
I was wondering if you HAVE to tell your work (boss) what procedure your having done? im actually a nurse and i KNOW my boss with me horrible about this and as im not telling people about it before hand as i just need people to be positive with me right now. I work where i live so people will know im getting an op and i will be off work ( was going to lie about what procedure i was having) also time off?? they go mad when people take time off at my work, i know everyone is different but how long did you take off to feel ok about going back to work?. i know i work for the caring profession a joke eh! x

Apart from my closest friends at work, no one else knew not even my manager. Didnt want everyone to know what I was having done, so told them it was abdominal surgery :) I think everyones different, I took 5 weeks off work but could have managed to go back in sooner as its a desk job, I wanted to complete my eating stages first before venturing back

I worked as a clinical support worker in
A busy maternity ward and was only off work for 2 weeks!!

only three people know exactly what i have had done, but no you do not have to tell your works xxx docs will write abdominal surgery. xx

You don't have to say what you're having done. I was off sick for 4 weeks and definitely needed those to properly recover. After that I still needed lots of rest after work and more sleep than before.

You can ask your dr to put abdominal surgery. Initially my note was two weeks but then it got extended as i wasn't going to be ready after open surgery. I had about 6/7 weeks off as i got hit by a sudden wave of exhaustion at 4 weeks. I am a secretary btw xx