• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

1st support group i've joined

Ricci

Hi, i am very new to all of this. Sorry if i go on.
I have been seen by weight management team at Aintree. They've been great so far. I have seen Dr Thomas, the psychologist and dieticians, been to a couple of support group meetings at Aintree and have just been given a date to meet my surgeon and have pre assessment done on 18th of November.
I am both excited and terrified!
I am a clinical support worker in Out Patients in a hospital further north. So no heavy lifting but on feet for much of the day.
I am wondering roughly how long i may need off work. I understand that everyone is different, but was hoping for someone to be able to give me an idea.
I am hoping to have the Sleeve done, if the surgeon agrees.
Thank you in advance for any replies.
Ricci

Hi. I am 5 weeks post op today. I went back to work after a week but took it easy for another week. I would say definitely 2 weeks. Again everyone is different. Good luck.

I had two weeks off and was v tired at work but fine. A week of early nights and then fully functioning the following week.

I was bypassed last week but before surgery I asked dietitian how long off work. She said that most people return after a max of 6 weeks and this is what I have told work. I'm in a fortunate position now as I had to budget for 6 weeks off work as I was on a 0 hour contract but contract is now permanent and because of long service I qualify for stat sick pay. Thus is still a reduction in wage but something coming in.