• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Another tummy tuck q!

Just curious, my umbilical hernia op should have been today, got there and they'd cancelled without telling me. Sooo....

In a state i rang my gp surgery, and asked about whether a ref somewhere else would be better. Then she told me i could have surgery anywhere. So i asked about a tummy tuck at the same time and she said i'd have more luck finding rocking horse poo in devon. :( i know some pct's will consider it if at the same time as a hernia op, so would i have a better chance asking to go out of the county? Which pct would fund it though? Mine or the surrogate pct? Weight loss is 6 stone, bmi now 25.8 was 35. Any opinions welcomed. And what do i need to be asking? My tummy muscles are actually fine, it's the mass of loose skin that's the issue, and a very large umbilical hernia

I'm no expert but the reading I've done around this seems to indicate that you will need to have maintained your weight at a stable and normal BMI for 2 years before being considered. Even then it might only be considered if the skin is very loose and if you can demonstrate to your GP/PCT that it is having other impacts on your lifes such as psychologically or physically (such as if skin folds are causing repeated topical infections).

Sorry if this isn't as positive as you had hoped. Remember, its always worth asking as the worst than can happen is that they say no! At least then you can consider alternatives. xxx