• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

been approved but confused!

kanky

Hi there im new to this so bare with me :)
im 19 years old and from Scotland and iv been overweight my whole life. After trying and failing many diets i decided to go along to my GP and ask for some help. He decided id be a brilliant candidate for weight loss surgery and decided to refer me to the surgeon at nine wells hospital in Dundee. After a couple week i got a letter asking me to go and meet the surgeon (Mr Pavaan Patel). on my appointment date i was very nervous as it was a very big step, so basically he agreed that i was a great candidate for the surgery but id need to meet the dietitian and go through all the all the usual hoops. Mr Patel said that he would refer me to the dietitian and that he would like to meet with me again in 6 months. upon leaving the meeting i felt hopeful about getting the op but was still not sure if i was going to get it so i felt a bit in limbo. my mum was ecstatic and in tears but i was just confused. so the time had come to meet the dietitian and after the meeting i was even more confused! i was basicaly told what i already knew and nothing more. i tried to stick to what the dietitian said and try and lose weight but nothing would work and i got stressed about it so as usual i gave up. i decided to concentrate on quitting smoking as Mr Patel had also requested and because i was successful at that the weight piled on :(

anyways... time passed and i got my letter to meet with Mr Patel again (17th may) so as usual i was worried because this was when i was getting the yes or no about my surgery and i had also put on weight!