• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie saying hello and asking for advice

CarrieKins

Hi, I am Carrie from Kent :D
I am waiting to have the RNY procedure.

I went to kings yesterday to finally meet Mr Patel, after starting my pre op journey at KCH nearly a year ago... agh!

I have gone down from 22 stone to 18.9 on my own in the last 6 months. I am 5 foot 2 inches.

Before yesterday's appointment I had been feeling pretty positive about the whole surgery. Mr Patel has agreed to do it in either the Christmas or Easter school holidays! (I am a teacher) However, he is telling me he doesn't expect me to get below about 13 stone. Leaving my BMI at around 38 still...

Now, I am wondering, is this really worth it for just 5 stones weight loss?? To put myself through major surgery to never be a normal size anyway?

I am so torn right now. yesterdays clinic put things slightly into perspective for me... There were people so much larger than I am there and also I spoke to 3 people, all of whom have regained their weight back after surgery.

I am left just not knowing where to go with this now.
My funding has been agreed and everything is ready to go... now I get cold feet???

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

They are always cautious about average weight Loss and it is just that average. You can get wherever you want to if you work at it :)

Hi, I am Carrie from Kent :D
I am waiting to have the RNY procedure.

I went to kings yesterday to finally meet Mr Patel, after starting my pre op journey at KCH nearly a year ago... agh!

I have gone down from 22 stone to 18.9 on my own in the last 6 months. I am 5 foot 2 inches.