• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

birmingham heartlands hospital

Laura b

2011 a new begginning
hi im new to this just finding my way around reading peoples sucess storys firstly ild like to say a big well done to all of u that are doin so well brilliant wl from what i see and to all thoses just starting out like myself i look forward to sharing my journey with u all but also following all your journeys.
so in regards to my title on this message is anyone or has anyone had wl surgery at birrmingham heartlands hospital and do u know there procedure is after a referal from ur gp? iv been to weight management in the past and also seen dieticians i said to the gp would i have to go through all that again but she said no as they have on my records that ive done that and failed that now ill just be refered straight for the surgery is this how it works ive been reading a few ppls threads and they have said differant but i know it depends what hospial u go too so ild be grateful if theres anyone that has or are going for surgery there to post a reply thanks u so much xxxx

hi laura'
wellcome to the site i,m due to have a gastric sleeve at heartlands hospital i first seen the surgeon in april this year and he agreed to the surgery my funding was already in place from my pct wen i had my first apointment due to a cock up at walsall manor , (not there fault though) any way seen mr kumar then had a bit of a group meeting 3 of us lol was told all about the procedure's we were haveing then told we will recive a letter with a date to start the pre opp deit and a date for surgery that as i say was back in april i have been told there are 9 in front of me on the waiting list and still waitin to get a date there are many still wating so i have no idea how long the wait is at present so its just a waiting game i,m afraid
any questions plz ask
regards steve

I had my gastric bypass at Heartlands in May.