• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Complete newbie , confused but excited

countrywench

Hi everyone
I am a 52 year old female who has been morbidly obese for the best part of 30 years now .
I am 5ft 10 so am quite tall . Before I got pregnant I weighed a healthy 12 stone with good curves and good bone coverage although I have always been heavy in the legs .
Now I find that after yoyo dieting for all these years , I now weigh 25st :cry:
Both of my knees are shot , I need a knee replacement for sure on one of them but have been turned down by the surgeon as ' fat won't heal very well '
. I'm in so much pain with my knees now that I live on high doses of powerful prescription painkillers , some days I take more than I'm allowed just to be able to move around .
I've been turned down 2 times now by my doctor for WLS , he wouldn't even refer me , I am going to see him again next week and ask to be referred to the weight management team and see what he says this time
I don't feel as if I have a quality of life at the moment . I'm using a mobility scooter to get around ..
I spend my days upstairs , as that is where the loo is , as its to painful to try and climb the stairs each time.
I don't want to come across as self pitying, because I am far from that . I'm just so damn angry that I've allowed myself to become this ' blob ' . And the fact that the doctors don't seem to want to help me ?
If I get turned down again I am going to fund this myself . Take out a loan if I can and pay for it myself . My hubby is 100% behind me ..
I've been in contact with The National Obesity Surgery Centre , has anyone else dealt with them ?
I've been quoted £6000 for a gastric band , does this sound about right ?
It's still very early stages of emails and calls , nothing has been signed with this company, but they offer surgery in my home town of Southampton ..
Well this is the beginning of my journey I hope ..