• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Epiphany - 13 months post band

Crazy Lady

I had my band 13 months ago and my weight loss has been slow and not what I was hoping for. I only weigh at the band fill clinic and do not have have scales at home. However, I am now comfortably wearing a size 14 which I haven't done for a few years, apart from for a few months when on Lighter Life 5 years ago. As a lot of us know the LL weight loss is hard to sustain.

I work as a forensic nurse in police custody suites, travelling between custodies as needed and so the other morning at the end of a 12 hour night shift I had my epiphany and this is what I realized.

I started the night shift at 18.00 and from 18.30 I had people trying to feed me.

18.30 - Custody 1 - coffee and fig rolls offered

19.30 a family size bag of maltesers appeared on the desk

22.30 Custody 2 - coffee, biscuits and cake offered

00.30 police shift in the station for tea break with offers of:
Crumpets, toast, chocolate sponge cake, Jaffa cake bars

01.30 sandwiches and sausage rolls on offer

03.00 back in custody 1 and offers of chicken burgers with bacon and cheese.

Fortunately I never made it to the custody with the 24 hour Tesco opposite.

Pre-band I would never have accepted all those offers of food but I certainly would have indulged in some of the food on offer.

I also got to thinking of other events which have occurred in the 13 months since my band which could have had adverse effects on my weight:

16 nights holiday in the USA - came back weighing 3lbs less than when I went
The passing of my lovely Dad - I would have comfort eaten
Christmas - would normally have over indulged to excess
14 nights in Egypt All Inclusive - the chance to over indulge
Easter - chocolate overdose
3 trips to Cyprus to stay with friends (where previously I have gained up to 7lbs in a week)