• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Feelin' blue

quetiapina

Bumps along somehow
Hi everyone. Well, I've been pretty down the last few days and I feel I need to explain why.

Brief History: Well, I've had bipolar disorder since I was an adolescent. I had my son very young and then went to Uni and became a qualified teacher. I worked in teaching for 11 years and during this time I did a Masters and a Post Grad counselling qual. I was by this time in a difficult relationship but have always been v close to my son ( although obviously I made mistakes etc).

I was diagnosed with Bipolar when I was 26 (it takes several years for a definitive diagnosis to be made in psychiatry - trial and error I think) and I refused medication as I was scared of it. I spent a lot of time keeping the mask up and pretending to be well - I got promoted a lot in my job - which was to teach kids with severe behaviour problems and to teach other teachers how to cope with them as well. I loved this job and was good at it - mainly because I had been a deeply troubled teen myself.

Well, about 6 years ago, my illness (untreated so made everything worse) blew up in spectacular fashion and I was hospitalized for a long time and put on any number of different combinations of medications until one combination was found that seems to work (took 3 years to get to this point). I was medically retired from work and now have a nurse who visits weekly.

Now: The reason I always make a big deal about my job and my qualifications is because having a mental illness strips you of everything. My uncle is a qualified surgeon but became unwell and so hasn't been able to work since early '70's. He is just known as Mad Mike. When you have a mental illness, people seem to just assume that you are just a mad, embarrassing strain on society and to be feared.