• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Greetings!

clairyb

Hello, My name is Claire and Ive lurked for a while........let me fill you in!!
My doctor referred me last year and I went through all the tests etc at York only to be told I had not got funding :cry:. I am not at the desired bmi yet but I was diagnosed with mild sleep apnoea. I drive for a living so I have to wear the darned mask and have had to let the DVLA know. At least I dont snore now but I hate having to wear it!! I was hoping that it might help with the funding but it was not to be.I also have an underactive thyroid but that doesnt seem help either. I went back to my docs and she was as disapointed too and I asked about doing an appeal. As I write this she is on the case (I hope...... because she hadnt done one straight away!)
I met some nice girls at the support meeting who have all had their ops and are doing well and I'm still here feeling so fat and frumpy. When I found out that I had not got funding I was gutted and after feeling sorry for myself I got out and started walking and biking, eating more healthily and was enjoying it but It HURTS my joints so much!! When the dark nights set in I even had a go at spinning at the gym (nearly killed myself!) ....all in all I lost the massive amount of 4 pounds....so much work for so little reward grrrrrrr. A year on I weigh more than I did last year, its so depressing. Ive worked out if I put on one and a half stone I will be the right bmi and its so tempting to put weight on to lose it if you understand? I think someday I will get there but Im no spring chicken and my joints are screaming out!! The last thing I want is to put more strain on them..........there is no way I can afford to go private, its dreadful that the system almost encourages you to get fatter.