• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello - Newbie here

Jamast

[FONT=&quot] Hi, I am a 48 year old wife/mother/Grandma. I've 3 adult children and am the legal Guardian for my 9 year old Grandson (since he was 5 months old).
We live in Cornwall and I've been fighting to have WLS since 2007, but have been hitting brick walls, ignorant Doctors; Doctors who simply cannot be bothered; misinformed Doctors; consultants have left, I've had major illnesses/accidents, been on massive waiting lists, competed with ever changing goal posts etc., etc. since that time. However, last Monday almost five years since starting this journey), I finally spoke to the consultant who is putting in a funding bid for my surgery. She feels that they will recommend the bypass instead of the band and I've actually been coming around to this way of thinking for some time now. I've obviously had a couple of days to think about it and now it looks like finally happening I am very nervous (to say the least). Not that I am changing my mind at all. On the one hand I cannot wait, knowing that in a couple of years’ time I can look back and think that it has all been worth it; but on the other hand - HELP!!!!

[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]

[/FONT]

welcome hun
hope your journey goes well xxx

Thank You. I have a long way to go. Currently weigh around 25 1/2 stones. I know it can be sometime before funding is approved and then perhaps longer for an actual date.

Is there anyone else from Cornwall and/or anyone who went through the NHS route - I love to hear your experiences.

Well you're among friends now so whatever the time limit we will try and make it seem shorter keep posting your thoughts and we will all try and help reassure you and pick you up when you are feeling down. everyone needs support xx