• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Help - Gastric Band on NHS consultation

vicki1983

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this so bare with me!
I was recently referred for a gastric band at Sunderland Hospital. I am looking for any information on timescales, what to expect at the consultation, likelyhood of being accepted and any other information that may help with the wait!

I am 26 years old, have a BMI of 41 and currently spend my life indoors as i cannot bare the thought of going outside, finding something to wear and feeling uncomfortable. I feel i am wasting my life and my marriage is suffering because of this.

If anyone has had the gastric band at Sunderland i would love to hear from you and find out what your experience was.....xxx

Welcome to Minis. I am not in your area but wanted to say hi.

hi vicki im in penshaw but i had my band done privately there are a few people on here who have had mr small at the sunderland royal, and they will b along soon to give u more info i think the time scale is about a year and a half but 2bands liz, or bypass sarah will know more or if you look under `procedure for sunderland `in the search engine or `sunderland support group` u will find lots of info there xxheather

Hi Vicki I live in County Durham as well. I attended the group session with Mr Small on 10th June. Lots of info was given about the different types of surgeries etc. The dietician weighed us and took our height and then sent to wait for a second consultation. I have just recieved mine for the 26th October with Mr Small. It is normally about a year from group session to surgery. There is a support group on this Thursday from 6-8 at Sunderland Royal where you can meet lots of others in the same boat. x

Wow, i didn't think it would be that long! Here's me being impatient about receiving the letter for the consultation, i guess i'm going to just have to learn to sit tight for a while!