• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hi! New to WLS...& having a bypass soon...

angie790

Hi everyone,
Firstly, I’d like to say a huge thank you to all the excellent advice and inspirational before and after photos found on this site :D!
Just like most on this site, I have had trouble with my weight on and off since puberty.....on the ‘off’ times, I managed to lose quite a few stones each time with Weightwatchers, but eventually the little I was actually eating meant it wasn’t sustainable for any length of time. I am definitely at an ‘on’ time, with my weight now being the heaviest I have ever been, :cry:lol!!!!
I am currently studying for a PhD in type II diabetes, so the irony is killing me! With my familial history and working in an area that has a huge focus on obesity, I was slowly becoming overwhelmed with the health risks I was subjecting myself to, by being obese.
At the beginning of last year, I finally accepted that clearly I am unable am maintain my weight sensibly on my own. With my health slowly deteriorating (and being under 40, that is really scary), despite my initial embarrassment, I plucked up my courage and trundled along to my doctors in August 2009 and basically demanded a referral for bariatric surgery!
I have jumped through all the hoops required of me, and I am now at the stage where my local PCT has agreed my funding and I am waiting for my pre-op appointment at Taunton for a gastric bypass...3-4 weeks I’ve been told.