• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hiatial Hernia and Effect on Bypass ?

Undecided

Hi All

I've just remembered something else.

At my gastroscopy I was told I have a small hiatial hernia. Sorry not told, I saw it in my notes ! Obviously not seen any consultant between then and now to ask about this ...

Soo ...does anyone know what impact this has on having a bypass. If any ?

Hi All

At my gastroscopy I was told I have a small hiatial hernia. Sorry not told, I saw it in my notes ! Obviously not seen any consultant between then and now to ask about this ...

Hi,
I am not an expert by any means but a lot of surgeons nowadays will repair a Hiatus Hernia at the same time as doing the Weight Loss surgery. It shouldn't impact on surgery apart from making it last a little longer and if you read a lot of posts on this forum it has also been said that another consequence can be a slightly larger pouch. I cannot speak for your surgeon though and these are things to discuss with your him prior to your op. No two cases are the same and nothing is written in stone. If you are not due to see your consultant soon, why dont you give his secretary a ring and ask the question.

hi a friend of mine just had her bypass on the 7th may , she had the herna and it was repaired at the time of her opp also, her pouch was also made slighty bigger, i belive this is the norm with this condtion hope this helps
regards steve

Hi, I had my endoscopy today and was told I have a hernia too. Mr Balpuri said not to worry, they will repair it when they do the bypass, he said it just means they need to alter the op a little bit. xxx

i have a small hernia too. Had no idea until I had my endoscopy. Nobody has mentioned doing anything with it or making the pouch bigger!

I wonder if it means more scars. I will ask tomorrow if there is anyone to ask. I don't know if the nurse will know.