• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

How i came to wls decision

anna2131

January 2009
Id noticed i was very tired could hardly stay awake and had gained half a stone,bearing in mind i only weighed 9stone and never had weight issues b4..
I was so tired could hardly stay awake at work and was in a really low foul mood daily with my family ,i had constant sore throat and felt lousy my husband begged me to give in and go see my doctor,im a pyhsci nurse and trust me i make an awful patient..
So i finally went to see the doctor (not my own ) firstly he said its depression i argued as no way am i depressed so he subcome to doing blood tests for my thyroid ,i recieve a call few days letter to go and see doc as bloods are showing underactive,so of i trot the he says well its underactive but im not gona give you meds yet as want to recheck in 3 months so what was point in calling me in..
I actually become really poorly with my throat and went back to see my own doctor and he requested a blood test it came back extremly underactive so prescribes thyroxine ,however things didnt improve its now 4 months and i had gained 5 stone ,so tired,losing my memory and seemingly sounding drunk as slurring so badly so now im signed off sick!!
Anyway to cut along story short im referred to see endoencrolgist i have Hashimto's thyroid disease so meds are altered to 200mg an 3 monthly bloods requiered from now on..

Now due to the6 stone iv now gained only being 4ft8 i hardly leave the house,hate my body and am totally ashamed (i live in a small village) and it really hits home as my parents and family are all down in kent or cornwall come to visit and cannot hide their shock at the size iv become and how ill iv become..
As now have high bp on beta blockers and water pills..