• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

I'm a newbie, just referred for Tier 3 "The Weigh Ahead"

barbiegal5

Hi all,

I have just signed my commitment statement for tier 3 weight management programme sponsored by Spire hospital, Southampton. I have got a blood test to have next Fri for glucose and cholesterol I think and then the GP is going to send the paperwork off!
It's such a surreal experience- fantastic to feel so supported by my GP to refer me on for weight management and hopefully surgery, but then I feel really done wondering how it has come to this!!
I have a wedding to go to abroad in July and I had planned to do a couple of weeks in very low calorie diet, but now I worry and think I shouldn't try and lose any weight before my appointment as my BMI may improve meaning I may not be offered input so easily!
My BMI is currently 46- I'm 5ft 7 and weight 130kg. I really want to be offered the surgery at the end of the programme because I constantly manage to lose weight and then end up putting it back on! The only thing I am worried about is on the 6month course if my BMI drops then although it should be great news it may mean my chances of surgery are greatly reduced!!
Any info or advice on the programme would be greatly received, and anyone who has been on programme from Southampton/Winchester area please get in touch and let me know what the whole thing involves!!
Any tips on making sure I do get offered surgery hugely appreciated, as well as input from anyone about their BMI and how much it reduced over the course.
Thanks so much in advance!
Good luck everyone xxx

Hi there
I had my first appointment with a tier 3 team at the beginning of March where they told me that surgery was not guaranteed after completing the tier 3 programme, but if it was considered it would be your BMI at the first appointment that would count (ie your BMI at the start of the programme)