• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

newbie (yes, yet another one)

NatashaJ

Hello folks,

Im just starting out on my weight loss surgery journey and would be grateful for any advice about what to expect.

I attended a WL seminar at North Tyneside Hospital in May and Im hopefully about to enrol on a 12 week weight loss programme called Lighent Up. I understand this is a mandatory requirement before WLS will be considered. Can anyone offer advice or share their experience? Im keen to know what waiting lists are like, both for the WL programme and surgery.

thanks xxx

I don't think that it is mandatory. It maybe in your area, but not everywhere. I am attending the Luton and Dunstable Hospital and it was never mentioned to me, and I am due to have my op on Thursday, so it's probably a bit late to do so now! Best of luck with your journey.

Chris

No not mandatory, most hospitals will require you to lose or at least maintain some weight prior to surgery and you will be required to do some form of liver reducing diet pre opp.
Good luck with your journey.

BigDave

Hi and Welcome NatashaJ, different hospitals require different commitments but all entail weight loss. Good Luck on your wls journey. I am sure someone else that is under North Shields will be along sooner or later to advise you x