• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Just made the big decision

Hi, my name's Katy and I've just decided to go for a gastric sleeve. I had a great consultation with Dr Ashton at Healthier Weight on Saturday and now it's just about getting the finances together.

I have been battling with my weight for over 10 years and the time has come to give up on stupid diets and bite the bullet.

Any advice, hints and tips from those who have had gastric sleeve ops would be much appreciated.

Thanks everyone! Xx

Woohoo! Well done on the decision. I hear so many good things about VSGs.

I have yet to make my decision but I think I'll be doing the same as you :)

Do you think you'll be having it soon?

Congratulations on your decision! Have you got a date for surgery in yet?

Well I'm off to Kos for two weeks on 27th August - so it will have to be after that. I'm thinking late Sept, or early Oct. My parents have just said that they will pay for it!!! I'm over the moon! I never asked them to do that - they just texted a simple "Dearest - we'll pay - Mxxx" - I'm buzzing today!!

Oh that's lovely ... Very nice of your parents & that you have their full support .... I Have the support of my husband who didn't really want me to have this done but he agreed we could afford to pay for it ourselves if it was something that I really wanted ??xx

Becky - I didn't have the support of my wife at all - she was so anti it due to all the horror stories we've all heard in the press. But then the media always love a good surgery-gone-wrong story don't they?! But after meeting the team at the hospital, and the consultant, her fears are gone and she knows it's the right thing for me. I hope your hubby understands why you need this and you get his full support x