• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Recent "newbie" from Glos, introducing herself

top_kat

I thought I posted here when I first joined, but its not showing, so although I've been posting a few posts since finding you guys, I thought I would post up an intro.

I'm Kat, 39 yr old single mum of my wonderful soon to be 12 year old. I am from Gloucestershire. I have been battling weight since I was 8 years old and have tried everything under the sun.

My last major failed attempt was LighterLife some 4-5 years ago, where I lost my 5 stone in 3 months, but ended up incredibly ill and not even able to consume 1 shake a day. :( As such, I got taken off it, and everything piled back on.

I started looking into surgery about 7 years ago, a serious fear of anaesthetic being my biggest barrier. In 2009 my Mum was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer, at that point I immediately gave up smoking, but then saw my weight grow by over 3 stone very quickly :(

As such, I've struggled on with things, almost killed myself climbing to the top of the Statue of Liberty last year on holiday, struggled to the top of the Colosseum this year, and it was our most recent holiday with my son that really made things hit home.

I spoke to my doctor about having a band who literally just laughed and said "That's a bit drastic", as such, wouldn't even consider referring me for private treatment. So, I've gone on my own.

I booked an appointment in july with Healthier Weight, saw Dr Ashton on July 10th and am booked in for my gastric band on August 23rd. Although with Healthier Weight I am due to having it at the Spire, Parkway, Solihull.

I've started a lowcal/fat diet, but heading into an attempt at the milk diet from thursday of this week.