• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Looking for a consultant / clinc ...

HappyDay

Hello I am a complete newbie here and just wanted to say hi and maybe get a little advice ...:confused:

I am based in Kent and am considering either a bypass or sleeve and wondered if anyone could recommend anyone locally? I have been given the name of Prof Francesco Rubino at Kings College in London but am finding communication from them hasn't been great (I just found out his secretary has left though so it could be this), but I was thinking it might be better to be more local in terms of aftercare and follow up appointments?!

Has anyone travelled long distance or do you think local is best?

Does anyone recommend or not recommend any particular clinics or surgeons? I am guessing it is going to cost around £10K to get this done privately?

Also don't know if should ask this but as a comfort eater at times, has anyone else been this and how do you cope after surgery to fill the gap that food did? Or after surgery are you so immersed in the new regime was it not a problem?

Anyway sorry for all the questions, just hoping for a bit of info really.

Thanks

Just wanted to say hi and welcome, I too self funded and I made appointments to speak to various surgeons (I had pretty much decided on the bypass) and spoke to them and the one I felt most at ease with was the 1 I went with, I haggled and took a cancellation and got my bypass for £9k, I went locally due to ease of getting there and back.

Hello and welcome to our great site!
I cant advise as I went down the NHS route , just wanted to say hi