• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Mr Jamie Kelly

Helski

Hi All
I've got my consultation appointment with Mr Kelly at 8 pm on Monday. I just wondered if you have any advice or experience of how this will go?
What questions should I ask? Did you take husband/wife with you?

Also how quickly are you mobile and able to lift (ie grandson) after gastric band op?

Thanks.

Hi Helski, didn't want to leave your thread empty. I have no experience of this surgeon unfortunately, but just wanted to welcome you.

In terms of questions, mortality rate is a good one to ask as is post op care and what is included in your package and what is not.

I had my partner with me for my appt with the surgeon and I would definitely recommend it!

Hi All
I've got my consultation appointment with Mr Kelly at 8 pm on Monday. I just wondered if you have any advice or experience of how this will go?
What questions should I ask? Did you take husband/wife with you?

Also how quickly are you mobile and able to lift (ie grandson) after gastric band op?

Thanks.

Hi & welcome Helski

Hubby has been to every consultation and dieticians app before and after my bypass which was nine weeks ago now.
Questions I asked.. Mortality rate? Diet afterwards? Post operative problems?

I have a granddaughter who is no lightweight but I found coping strategies around lifting her without pulling on the internal stitching /staples. I did allow myself three weeks healing time beforehand though ;) I was mobile quite quickly tbh and was able to do most things within reason and allowing for the fact I had just had major surgery after about a week.

Well, I've just met with my prospective surgeon. He was very nice and made a point of managing my expectations. Mostly that a GB is a tool and the real change has to come from within.
He also said that I would be doing well to lose 50% of my excess weight. I guess that part is up to me.