• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

my letter to PCT

helen144

Especially for Gingernutter, but obviously may help other people, this is the letter i wrote to my GP asking him to apply to the PCT for funding for WLS.

Dear DR *********

I am writing to ask whether you would support my application to apply for weight loss surgery on the NHS, I am well aware that you would need to applt to Tameside and Glossop PCT for this.
I have researched Weight Loss Surgery(WLS) extensively on the internet and I have read the NICE guidelines for morbid obesity and I fullfil the criteria to be able to have this performed on the NHS.
My current weight is 19stone 9lbs (274lbs) height is 5' 6" giving me a BMI of 44.1 (Morbidly Obese)

As you are aware I am a Registered Nurse and a Practising Midwife and I have not taken this decision lightly, I am well aware of the need for adequete nutrition and I am also aware of the need for adequete food portions, I have extreme difficulty in maintaining both of these issues for any length of time, even with the support of qualified individuals and support groups.
I feel that WLS would give me the tool to be able to lose weight and therefore achive a healthier life both physically and mentally.

last time i wrote this on i think i was timed out so i m going to put this in 3 parts the rest to follow below.

helenx

letter continued.......

Diet Attempts

Lighter Life I attended Lighter Life a couple of years ago, this diet works with very low calorie food packs 9food abstinence) and weekly group sessions by qualified councillors that use Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and Transactional Analysis to aid in changing your perception about food. (I maintained this diet for 2 weeks, had great difficulty with food abstinence)