• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie Luton & Dunstable

LinBaker

Hello, I'm a newbie and really confused about the system :help2: !!!!

After two years working with a dietician at my GPs surgery, my GP suggested a referral for WLSurgery and that the work I'd put in with the dietician plus the efforts I'd made over the years with diet clubs would be taken into account. I must admit I thought it was too good to be true, and perhaps it is.

When I arrived at my first appointment in early March 2014, I was told that I had to complete a whole 12 months with their Tier 3 dietician before even being considered for surgery

The explained that the rules had changed to make things fairer and that this was the case nationwide - everyone has to do this 12 months tier 3 no matter what efforts they've made in the past.

Anyhoo, I've been put on a 'milk' diet which I really struggle with; I'm on week 6 out of the 8 weeks they told me to do this for and have my next appointment on June 13 - I don't really know what to expect then, only I hope they don't keep me on this milk diet indefinitely! It's grim.

I was wondering if anyone else went through L&D hospital and what their experience was with the 12 month programme and how long the wait for surgery is after the 12 month Tier 3

Last edited:
Hi, sadly can't help much as I was on the old system, but I understand one lady has been on the milk diet for six months. However, she is now dated for her op, so don't lose hope! Good luck!

At the moment I am one week into my 8 week milk diet, following that I have a further 8 weeks on milk and solid food, then I have to do another 8 weeks of food only. This will take 6 months all together. I don't know if this is what they call the 3 Tier system - I only know it as 3 Stage Intensive Weight Loss Management Programme.