• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

...Not another one! :D *N00B!*

Flickalicious

Bit of a weirdy! XD
Hey ladies and gents!

Another newbie here :)
I have had appointments with the surgeon, anesthetist and dietitians and have been accepted for Gastric Bypass surgery on the NHS. I'm yet to receive a date but the hospital have said that the waiting time is only a few short weeks! Mid-November they reckon. So pretty much sleeping in the hallway waiting for a letter to land on my head! The wait is horrendous (I only had my last appointment a week ago!)

The pre-op diet doesn't bother me... I love milk lol Post-op isn't particularly a problem at the mo either. The thing that is scaring the living *BEEP* out of me is the actual op itself. I'm so scared about not making it out the other side :(

Have any of you post-oppers got any advice to calm my nerves? Or anything that would help me out at all? It would be of great help!

Thank you guys in advance :) Flick

hello and welcome

Welcome to the group, I don't really know what to suggest to make you calmer, maybe visualise a slimmer healthier you, I am having the bypass 31st October, and funny enough I'm not nervous of the operation but am nervous about afterwards, can't get my head around I'll never be able to pig out on yummy food ever again, I know that is ridiculous as that is what got me to this weight, but it is just so final, I find looking at people's inspirational stories and photos on here helps my doubts. Good luck and I'm sure you will be fine there is so much support on here x

As I type I am sitting on my hospital bed having had my bypass done yesterday and I feel great. Everyone was so helpful leading up to the op. Fully explaining everything to me. I couldn't have been any more informed. Just think of that surgery time as a few hours that you won't even be aware of that will improved your life forever x