• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Pre-op nerves and trepidations

MiniMinx

Hi all,

I never expected this time to come. I have a pre-assessment on Monday for a gastric band -I wish they would take me in then and there and get it over and done.

Most of my nerves are evolving about my life after the band and I don't know what is to be expected. I have no intention of telling anyone about this procedure apart from close family as I don't want anyone judging me.

My issue is this- I am a teacher and taking time off to have fills etc is going to be a real issue. I don't want to tell work what I am having done as I don't want them to think 'oh the fat girl who needs help is having an op'. If I tell my boss the truth I think there is 80% chance of her telling someone else.

I need to think of an excuse that would require me to visit the hospital from time to time for the fills. Any ideas anyone?

I ve heard the nhs usually do the op within three months of the pre assessment is that right?

Thanks everyone, nice talking to people who understand.

Hi Mini :)

You could tell them you have an ailment, that requires a course of treatment e.g:

Gallstones
Dental treatment (impacted wisdom teeth)
Giving blood

Double check things as you maybe able to fit fills in around the hollibobs :)

xx

A lot of the providers will do infills on an evening or after school, I had my first infill during February half term school holidays, as I am a mature student who has returned to finish my degree. I told uni that I had a hernia and the same with the place that I work, the hospital note will just say that you had a medical procedure and will not say what you had done. I had my band on 5th January and it feels great to be able to buy clothes again for a normal shop without having to order on line. Good luck with your consultation x