• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

what to expect

linz30

hi all I'm new to this and just wanted some info as I'm going to Walsall manor hospital on the 21st of September to see the surgery team as it says on my letter just wanted to ask people about what you expect and etc and how long it will take and what to expect???

from the beginning I'm 30 I have twin daughters and from the age of 10 ive always struggled with my weight ive had no help at all until now been on weight loss groups ive done slimming world weight watchers and last year was on oralstat slimming tablets nothing has worked so my DR refer me to a local dietician and she said my bmi was very high at the moment it is 53 but the only thing I must say I suffer is my legs and back I have no other medical conditions but there is a history of heart problems from my parent so anyway the dietician said I needed to ask my doctor to refer me went back to docs and after a week later got a letter to go and see the surgery team.

any help at all would really appreciate it thanks.

Hannah2

Hi and welcome! Each area/team are different so I cannot give you timescales. Hopefully there will be others from Walsall that will be able to answer you. With a BMI over 50 you should be ok for the surgical pathway without any other conditions but it does depend on your area/team

Best advice is research research and research some more - work out if life after WLS is something you and your family can adjust to and work around. If you are not able to change your habits/choices then it will be difficult to be successful. Make sure you understand your relationship with food and what needs to change. You will read this a lot........ "they operate on our stomachs not our heads".

Good luck and keep posting!

linz30