• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Blackmail?

wannabeminime

Having spoken to my local provider yesterday, i am now in a quandry. I was told that, if i choose to go abroad for surgery and then follow up is required, no UK provider would touch me. Has anyone else come across this?

Also, i have received a recent quote which had this paragraph;

"You need to be aware that there has been a change in the NHS which means that if you
have an elective surgical procedure privately then you must have full after care relating to
this procedure privately too."

I am worried that if i have an emergency, the NHS wont help me!

i had my op 60 miles from where i live and i was told any problems with the bypass then the only hospital i should go to is where i had my op... so this could be the case hun xx

I dont think thats the case. But im no expert. Of course if its bypass related i.e reversal or band adjustments then you will prob need to go private.

But things like serious complications and 999 things are covered x

Thanks Rayne, i understand that if you have had surgery in this country, you need to revisit your provider with any problems. What would happen if i had an emergency here, eg burst staples, when i'd had surgery abroad though? Would i be sent away? I could be dead by the time i got back to my original surgeon!

Also, what about a revision further down the line? This is more what i was getting at. If i have a sleeve abroad, but later on i want the malabsorption part of the bypass, would i have to go abroad again? This is what the woman on the phone yesterday was suggesting:(.

Having spoken to my local provider yesterday, i am now in a quandry. I was told that, if i choose to go abroad for surgery and then follow up is required, no UK provider would touch me. Has anyone else come across this?

Also, i have received a recent quote which had this paragraph;