• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Deliberate weight gain

Before I became ill I had a very active and healthy life. I was a dance instructor/judge, nice and slim and had no problems getting around. Then came the illnesses, difficulties getting around and the weight just piled on making the pain worse.

On the days when my illness is at its worst I literally want to curl up and die the pain is that bad, the only relief I can get from this is to have a lumbar puncture and fluid drawn off my spine. If anyone has had one of those they will know they are the most painful thing you can experience, but to have them as often as I do is almost unbearable. I've had so many now down my spine is very badly scarred and marked.

Some days I can't walk at all, others I walk very badly and mostly need a stick. I had to really fight to get my DLA, even ended up at a tribunal. My doctor was appauled that I was struggling so hard to get it.

Now I read this, and sorry for saying this peeps, but it makes me want to poke her eyes out. I don't think too many of us here would prefer to be fat and in pain just to get a bit of money. Its not really that much money to start with, certainly not enough to put your health at risk for.

The very reason most of us put ourselves through this surgery in the first place is so that we are hopefully relatively pain free in the future. If ever there was a reason for people having phsyc evaluations pre op, this is it. Stupid Stupid woman!!

Oh I almost forgot. She has got one thing wrong, having this op has cut our food bills down a lot, so much so I'm thinking about sending the other half to have it done...lol

Last edited:
For most of my teenage years our family was supported by Social Security as my father had terrible bad luck and a string of illnesses - tuberculosis, 5 heart attacks and leukaemia - btw, he was always skinny.