• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Doctor has given me the option of bariatric surgery

lydia86

Hi all. Have been to see my GP again today who has recommended a gastric band for me. I have been battling with my weight for over 10 yrs since I was a teenager and am now heavier than I was before.

I must have been back to weight watchers and slimming world more times than I can count, as well as following calorie controlled diets, crash diets, meal replacements and the NHS weight loss programme, all to no avail. I am 25 with a 2 year old daughter and want to have more kids, but not at my size.

I am seriously considering the surgery as nothing I have tried has worked and with a family history of heart conditions, diabetes and spontaneous liver failure, I want to be as healthy as possible to see my daughter grow up.

You read such horror stories by googling bariatric surgery, so I thought it would be nice to speak to people who are having or have had it done to find out what happens, what the waiting times are like etc, and of course for support!!

Thankyou! :)

hi and welcome to this forum , you will defo find all the support and advice you need on this site, and if you do go ahead with your surgery and decide to be a regular poster on this site, you will prob go into hospital armed with all the advice and knowledge and know more than most poeple who are haveing the same op as you.
no one can decide but you if you want this chance its not a quick fix you have to work at it and watch what you eat, i hope you can decide what to have with wanting another child and your family history, good luck and best whishes with your decision. xx

:welcome:

This site is really useful and supportive - just ask any questions you might have.